How I Fixed My Sinus Problems Naturally (5 DIY That Actually Works!!!)

Few days ago, I felt like my whole world was collapsing when I woke up with a pounding headache, a blocked nose and a throat that felt as if I’ve swallowed a few nails. It was awful but no fever or anything like that. Of course I was terrified thinking it could be the COVID-19 symptoms after all but then the excruciating pain was only around my face and not the whole body. So I instantly knew it was my old friend who had came back to visit me this time of the year. Again.

I hate the crazy monsoon weather which can be extremely hot on one minute and cold the next. So here I am stuck with my usual sinus infection. Thanks to my dad who had decided years ago that I would be the best pick for him to pass it on. And of course he is the only one who can make me go sick every single time. When he started sneezing nonstop, it is my cue to get ready to fall sick all over again. It doesn’t matter what I do, it is him that I can’t never avoid. One sneeze is all that I need.

Instead of crying over things that I can’t control, I like to channel my energy on the things that I could do to make myself better. So yes I got my sinus again but how do I bounce back ASAP is the question. Over the years, I have mastered the skill of researching the remedies for sinus because sinus infection is a viral infection which also means that antibiotics are not going to work. You don’t believe me? Try it!

Not all over-the-counter medications worked for me or even a visit to the doctor helped much so I had to look for some other alternatives that can get me a quick fix while letting my immune system fight off the infection. I’ve personally tried these home remedies and it worked wonders for me. I hope that by sharing these natural DIYs remedies you could also fix your sinus problems within days!

Problem No 1: Headache, facial pain and runny nose.

The first problem that I would tackle because it can be irritating. My mom’s old remedy works instantly for me. She would say just breathe into the steam vapors and you would be fine. And it works every single time. The headache, the pain around your face and the runny nose would stop instantly. Just put a bowl of hot water with Vicks in it, place a blanket over your head to trap the steam in and just breathe deeply. My pores would start sweating in just seconds and it makes my face glow after too, so why not?

Problem No 2: Sore throat.

The first day of sore throat is the hardest but then try to drink and eat foods with high liquids in it. I personally love porridge and soups when I have my sinus or just sick because it is easier to swallow and it soothes your throat. Just stay hydrated and stay out of any kind of spices or caffeine until you feel better. Drink a lot of water because fluids help to thin out the mucus and makes it easier to pass through your sinus passages.

Source: Instagram @thedoublelifeofafoodie

Problem No 3: Congested cough.

This one is hard to get rid off instantly but the cough would lessen almost instantly. The congestion, however, would take up days or weeks to be gone completely depending on the severity. A remedy I found from Facebook a few years back, totally helped me to rectify this problem. The ginger and flour patch I called it, helped me to breathe better at night and breaks down the congested mucus on my chest. Put on the patch before you go to sleep and take it off in the morning.

Problem No 4: Weak immune system.

Of course your immune system is down the drain right now and you have to build it up all over again. So what do you do? My mom makes me this ginger juice which is nothing but ginger. Ginger has the anti-inflammatory gingerol known to reduce inflammation and to make it even better, she adds an orange for a boost of vitamin C. Vitamin C is amazing for cold, allergies and also sinus infections. At this point, I would drink any kinda juice if it’s going to help me get through it. And it does!

Problem No 5: Fatigue.

I hate being sick but there’s nothing that I could do so I just make sure I am well-rested and sleep as much as I can because it helps. Being fatigue is not good but sometimes your body needs some rest too. Maybe this is how it is telling me to slow down from my busy life for now. Instead of focusing on everyone everyday, this is the time that I should focus on myself and my well-being. Yes I do miss my crazy busy life and working out but for now I would rather just stay home and recuperate.

What do you do differently than me when you have your usual sinus problems? Share it with me and I would definitely try them out and let you know how it made me feel. I’ll see you guys next week but for now, let me go back to my nest because all these blogging is just too much right now.


43 thoughts on “How I Fixed My Sinus Problems Naturally (5 DIY That Actually Works!!!)

Leave a comment