5 Inspiring Autobiographies I Strongly Recommend!

I am pretty excited to start the new month of September especially after the big 2 last month. Definitely feels a lot like restarting the blog all over again on a clean slate. So if that’s the case, why not get it started with one of my most favorite things to do; reading. Let’s go back to the days where we were all forced to read and write. How painful was that? I remember I used to cry and throw a tantrum because I hated my parents so much. Their intentions was right all along but I perceived it wrongly at that time. But didn’t we all make the same mistake when we were a lot younger?

Now as I mature, I can see why they were strict when it comes to school and education. It is something we all took advantage of not knowing that there are still some people out there who are missing out on school or just basic studying necessities that we all take for granted. Not everyone is privileged and obviously we didn’t understand any of this at that age. I do feel bad at times but I also know that this is what it takes to learn more about life and people around you. My first real book was my parents.

After being a librarian during elementary school and having access to millions of books, I can say that I have a thing for books. I even started reading more books during my high school when they started this reading project where you have to read a few books every month to gain recognition and prizes. As the amount of books you read accumulate every month, you would get into the next level and I must say I was pretty consistent. I finally got into the highest level of reading that they had and I even got awarded for it. How nerdy?

So the reading habit my parents instilled in me doesn’t end right there. It followed me right through undergraduate and post-graduate school. Even after that, you can always find me with a book even if I am taking forever to read but I am still reading. It is just so much slower than before since I also have to take care of the major thing called life. After reading all sorts of book genres comprising of fictions and non-fictions, I started indulging more into autobiographies.

Real life stories excites me more than anything. They inspire me in the most awkward ways possible. They bring your emotions out, make you understand their struggle, make you feel a lot more human and they keep you wide awake at night. I enjoy reading autobiographies and I know you would to so I’ve narrowed them down for you. Here are 5 inspiring autobiographies that I strongly recommend.

1. Born A Crime by Trevor Noah (2016)

no1Source: Google

There is a reason why 97% of people liked this book on Google. The story revolves around this mischievous young boy who grows into a restless young man as he struggles to find himself in a world where he was never supposed to exist. The story was set during the twilight of apartheid and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed. If you think you have a life that is not worthy of living, try reading this book.

2. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi (2016)

no2Source: Google

With 95% of people who’ve liked this book on Google, I don’t see why this book shouldn’t be on my list. It is a memoir about Dr. Paul Kalanithi’s, a neurosurgeon who was diagnosed with terminal lung cancer in his mid-thirties and how he dealt with his life and illness. This book actually inspired me to write about grief and illness. Click here to read.

3. Becoming by Michelle Obama (2018)

no3Source: Google

A memoir of former United States first lady Michelle Obama describing her deeply personal experience, her roots and how she found her voice, as well as her time in the White House, her public health campaign, and her role as a mother is the third on my list with 93% likes on Google. Totally a real life Wonder Woman. If this isn’t inspiring, I don’t know what is.

4. The Diary of a Young Girl By Anne Frank (1947)

no4Source: Google

This book goes way back into the 1940’s with 92% likes on Google. Anne, a young Jewish girl, is forced into hiding with her family and one other family in Nazi-occupied Amsterdam. She pens down her feelings and experiences in her diary while keeping high hopes to be free again. Coincidentally, I started reading this book during the quarantine/lockdown period and it helped me get through life. I even wrote a whole surviving the quarantine series. Click here to read more.

5. I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban By Malala Yousafzai and Christina Lamb (2013)

malalaSource: Google

Last but not least, it is Malala Yousafzai’s book with a 89% of likes on Google. The story is remarkable by itself. It revolves around her family fighting over global terrorism and girls’ education. Her father adored her and was always behind her back. It was quite surprising because their culture values sons more than the daughters. I wrote a blog after reading her book and it was the best way to celebrate the international women’s day this year. Click here to read more.

So, out of all these amazing books, which one is your favorite?


87 thoughts on “5 Inspiring Autobiographies I Strongly Recommend!

Leave a comment