21 Qualities We Can All Adopt From Michelle Obama And Her Journey Into ‘Becoming’!

Obviously, I didn’t take a break from reading or hunting for new books ever since we got out of quarantine/lockdown. However, I did somehow slowed down my reading a little to give way to real people and the new normal lifestyle that is resuming on a much slower pace than I thought. While we are still adjusting, I think this book lifted me when I wanted to break the monotonous life that we are in right now. Definitely not a fan of politics, but this book showed me a side of politics that I didn’t know existed. You don’t really have to love it even when you are in it. Sometimes it is all about adjustments.

As FLOTUS (First Lady of the United States of America), Michelle Obama invites readers into her world, chronicling the experiences that have shaped her. From her childhood on the South Side of Chicago to her years as an executive balancing the demands of motherhood and work, to her time spent at the world’s most famous address. She describes her triumphs and her disappointments, both public and private, telling her full story as she has lived it. In her own words and on her own terms. A story of a woman of soul and substance who has steadily defied expectations, who inspires us to do the same.

A few more reasons on why this book is a must-read.

#1 New York Times Bestseller.

Oprah’s Book Club Pick.

NAACP Image Award Winner.

One of Essence’s 50 Most Impactful Black Books of the Past 50 Years.

With more than 1.4 million copies sold in its first week itself, ‘Becoming’ quickly turned out to be one of the best-selling books in 2018. This book was also translated into more than 30 different languages. There’s a reason why 93% people liked this book in Google. Even though it is over 400 pages long, I must emphasize that it is an excellently well-written memoir. ‘Becoming’ is candid, open and vulnerable. Some of the events will make you want to relate, realize and understand her experience in the most messiest, honest and real way.

Now, let’s look at the 21 qualities we can all adopt from Michelle Obama and her journey into ‘Becoming’.

1. Family first.

My family was my world, the center of everything

Throughout the book, she emphasizes on how her family was and still is her biggest support system. Even when she wasn’t born into a rich family, she adapted accordingly.

2. Skin color doesn’t matter.

“It mattered every time a woman of color showed up on the cover of a magazine.”

It is quite interesting to read about how she dealt with discrimination and also I find it relatable to all the women of color when she started questioning everything within herself.

3. Highly ambitious but not a risk taker/guarded.

I told her about my restlessness, how I was desperate to make a major change but worried about not making enough money if I did.

Even when she wasn’t happy with her current job, she was hesitant on looking for another job. Just like many of us, she rather choose a solid path set for her instead of switching career.

4. Finds no logic in smoking.

My parents barbecued, smoked cigarettes, and played cards with my aunt, but my father also took long breaks to join us kids in the pool.

Her parents smoked and it did bother her when she was younger. And then, when Barack was smoking too, she finds it a little absurd.

5. Education is important.

That I, too, was from a working-class neighborhood, raised by a family of modest means and loving spirit, that I’d realized early on that school was where I could start defining myself- that an education was a thing worth working for, that it would help spring them forward in the world.

Her parents instilled so much on the importance of education that it was embedded into her. And obviously, without education, she wouldn’t be where she is right now.

6. Love heals.

Even now that I had a serious boyfriend, my girlfriends were the ones who held me steady.

She had a boyfriend and she still find the comfort by keeping up with her friends and family no matter how busy she gets. Love heals her in a way.

7. Reading/journalling helps.

“I was now content to spend a Saturday night reading a good novel on the couch.”

The fact that Barack loves to read, started brushing on her too. She started journaling too later on to channel her thoughts in a healthier way.

8. Inspiring.

I was determined to be someone who told the truth, using my voice to lift up the voiceless when I could, and to not disappear on people in need.

She believes she could help people in need and use her voice when its necessary. Even with her clients, she reminded them of their own relative good fortunes at times.

9. Bravely puts her story out there.

And so I booked us an appointment with a downtown psychologist who came recommended by a friend, and Barack and I went to see him a handful of times.

Not many of us will talk about therapy openly but when Michelle and Barack went to a couples therapy, she was being brutally honest on how she wanted their relationship to work.

10. Not being judgemental.

The implication was that I was making a dangerous choice, that there was only one correct way to be a senator’s wife and I was choosing wrong.

Even when she was being judged, she chose not to be judgemental and instead of flipping over it, she thanked the senator’s wife for her concern.

11. A pragmatist.

As a lifelong pragmatist, I would always counsel a slow approach, the methodical checking of boxes.”

She is more practical when it comes to life and dealing with her complicated life compared to Barack who is much more laid back and a risk-taker.

12. Confident.

Confidence, I’d learned then, sometimes needs to be called from within.

She repeated the same words to herself in many occasions that she was good enough especially when the words “first” and “black” are attached.

13. It is okay to be lonely or overwhelmed sometimes.

I was so exhausted I thought I might cry.

Feels good to know that even a notable figure allows themselves to feel lonely or overwhelmed and be open about their feelings and emotions.

14. Humble.

I understood how lucky we were to be living this way.

She stayed humble throughout the book from her life back in the days in South Side to the FLOTUS days and it showed through her narrations.

15. Healthy eating.

My first real effort, I decided, would be the garden.

Even though she is not a gardener, she wants to make sure people eat better food. She started a garden at the White House hoping that it will created a bigger change towards a healthy living.

16. Appreciative.

I would never take our good fortune or comfort for granted, though what I began to appreciate more was the humanity of the place.

The life at the White House was new and different but she started falling in love with people in there who were not so different than her. It kept her grounded in a way.

17. Self reliant/Independent.

Growing up on Euclid Avenue, I’d been taught that self-sufficiency was everything.

She’d been raised to handle her own business when she was younger but then she had to give in with her new lifestyle. It made her felt as if she lost control in her life which was true in a way.

18. Learn from life itself.

Life was teaching me that progress and change happen slowly.

Life lessons are crucial when it comes to being patient. Some things take time and it might even take longer than expected. But, don’t lose hope. She never did.

19. Compassionate.

Like me, Barack loved children in a deep and genuine way.

The couple loved children in general not just theirs. They are even compassionate towards animals not just humans say a lot about them.

20. Keep going no matter what happens.

The hatred was old and deep and as dangerous as ever.

Michelle was hated for numerous reasons but she still fought it through. As a minority, it must be hard to be the first colored family to be living in the White House itself.

21. Freedom is not free.

It had taken us ten minutes to get out of our own home, but we’d done it.

Michelle and her daughter, Malia took ten minutes just to get out of their home to see a celebration of pride outside the iron gates, making me appreciate the true meaning of freedom that I have.

Can’t wait to start another interesting life-altering book after this one. Feel free to suggest some of your favorite books that I might like as well.


59 thoughts on “21 Qualities We Can All Adopt From Michelle Obama And Her Journey Into ‘Becoming’!

Leave a comment